Below is a list of some of the changes on the Laulima system after upgrading from Sakai 10.7 to 11.4.
Some interface elements have changed in Sakai 11.
- Sakai 11 no longer uses iframes, this is the direction the web is going, though now some content will not be embeddable and will have to open in a new tab/window
- Because there are no iframes the blue double arrows to reset the middle portion of the page no longer exists.
- My Workspace tab is now called Home
- The More Sites tab is now Sites
- The Log Out link is now found after clicking your account name in the upper right
- There is a “bread crumb” navigation bar under the tab cluster
- For instructors, when a site is unpublished (not visible to students), It will be indicated by a yellow banner, along with a link to publish the site, below the “bread crumb” navigation bar
- The Home tool is now called Overview by default
- When you are an instructor in a site, changing to a simulated student view (and back) is now located on the left, above the list of tools, under “View Site As”
- The profile image now appears next to your name in the upper left corner of the Laulima window.
- Instructors can reorder via drag and drop (then Update) by clicking the Reorder button
- Grading page allows you to “Navigate between students with submissions only”
- New feature allows instructors to select multiple students to allow resubmissions
- Resubmission settings for individual students now apply even after the Accept Until date has past
Gradebook Classic Tool
- Gradebook is now named Gradebook Classic
- Issue: When there are categories being used in the Gradebook Classic tool, an error is generated in the “All Grades” view. We are working to resolve this as soon as possible.
- “Edit Tools” is now called “Manage Tools”
- “Page Order” is now called “Tool Order”
- New type of content to add available: checklist
- New column options
- There is no longer a separate “Add” drop down, those functions are incorporated into the Actions drop down
- There is now a Trash function for instructors, you can visit that area to restore (or fully remove a file) a file that you move to trash. Files will be available for restore for 30 days before being deleted (files will only be stored starting from the date of the upgrade)